Letting GOD’s Perspective Define My Vision

I am no stranger to the emotional storm of difficult circumstances or frustrated self-made desires. It can be tempting to feel in the midst of a bad day or a troubling season that my entire life is off track, derailed, unhinged. It’s easy to listen to my emotions saying this is the way it has always been, it won’t ever get any better. This is just the reality of your life, get used to it. Deal with it. Don’t bother looking for any better –what you see is what you get and this it it, all there is. Don’t waste your time in the futility of dreaming of more, better or different.

However God has a different perspective:

“When all these things happen to you—the blessings and curses I have set before you—and you come to your senses…and you and your children return to the Lord your God and obey Him with all your heart and all your soul by doing everything I am giving you today, then He will restore your fortunes, have compassion on you, and gather you again…Even [from] the ends of the earth,He will gather you and bring you back from there.”

Deuteronomy 30:1-4

The benefits of faithfulness even after failure prove that GOD is a GOD of second chances.:

“If you follow My statutes and faithfully observe My commands, I will give you rain at the right time, and the land will yield its produce, and the trees of the field will bear their fruit. Your threshing will continue until grape harvest, and the grape harvest will continue until sowing time; you will have plenty of food to eat and live securely in your land. I will give peace to the land, and you will lie down with nothing to frighten you. I will remove dangerous animals from the land, and no sword will pass through your land. You will pursue your enemies, and they will fall before you by the sword. Five of you will pursue 100, and 100 of you will pursue 10,000; your enemies will fall before you by the sword.

“I will turn to you, make you fruitful and multiply you, and confirm My covenant with you. You will eat the old grain of the previous year and will clear out the old to make room for the new. I will place My residence among you, and I will not reject you.”

Leviticus 26:3-11

In other words, no matter what is going wrong in my life, my best hope is to grab on tight to what I know God has for me to do, what is in my hand in the moment to remain faithful instead of brooding over what I don’t have the resources or opportunity to do or what I wish I could do if it was up to me. He is looking for hearts that are fixed on Him regardless of what hurts, disappointments and failures lie in their pasts. Hearts that know they need Him, that without Him, there is no hope of any lasting good for the future.

 For the eyes of Yahweh roam throughout the earth to show Himself strong for those whose hearts are completely His.

2 Chronicles 16:9

Although for sure it is easier said than done when the emotional storm of disappointment, frustrated desires and the constant barrage of one trouble after another with just enough time between to take a deep breath and start to think I’ve reached an even keel and started to make progress toward better, hit like a tsunami and wear down my emotional endurance, GOD is sure, His promises never fail. No matter what my emotions say, no matter what lies they throw at me, I have to  hold onto the higher Truth that God’s vision for me is more certain than the passing tides of emotional upheaval.

When the lies come to visit, I have to take those misleading thoughts captive and align my vision with GOD’s perspective. He has never yet let me down, even when the road led through excruciating trials and took far longer than I dreamed or wanted or wished for.  His blessings are not necessarily instantaneous or material. But GOD’s vision of me is the only one I can be sure of to come true. That is the only perspective that will give me the strength and wisdom to keep heading towards Him even when the press of life, fleshly desires and material needs becomes  excruciating and deafeningly louder than His still small voice.

Dear LORD,

Thank You for always sticking with me no matter what comes. Please let Your eyes be my eyes that I would see my circumstances from Your perspective and allow Your Truth and faithfulness to me school my thoughts and emotions to remain faithful to You, to remember all You have done for me that it may teach me to keep on doing the next right thing You put in my hand to do and trust You for the outcome no matter what storms, trials and troubles may come with the intent to derail me. Grant me Your strength and wisdom to choose Your vision rather than my own. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Blessings!

Tamara Christine

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous for the LORD your GOD will go with you wherever you go? Joshua 1:9

I am not ashamed for I KNOW in Whom I have believed and am convinced that He is able to guard that which I have entrusted to Him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12

Leave a Reply

