On the Verge of Something Great

Look, I am about to do something new;
even now it is coming. Do you not see it?
Indeed, I will make a way in the wilderness,
rivers in the desert.

Isaiah 43:19

There’s an old 2nd Chapter of Acts song with the refrain, “So why should I worry? Why should I fret? ‘Cause I’ve got a Mansion Builder Who ain’t through with me yet!” Every time the Israelites got impatient, whiny and tried to take matters in their own hands or put pressure on Moses to take a shortcut through temporal solutions, GOD was about to do something great and showcase His sufficiency on their behalf. Yet no matter how much He provided and showed Himself faithful, their first instinct was fear and doubt when any new challenge presented itself.

Thing is whenever GOD moves in mighty ways to provide, ways that no human agency could arrange for, as He has for my family, it can be tempting to think that’s as good as it’s every going to get. It’s like you get this notion that you’ve used up your one big favor from GOD and the rest is up to you. You don’t dare ask for any more lest you appear demanding and ungrateful for the first provision.

Certain types of people reinforce this notion when it turns out that whatever role they assign themselves to write themselves into the story that GOD is writing for HIS glory comes with strings attached. Strings that demand abject gratitude, yet fail to recognize the gratitude already being freely given; and therefore, hurl accusations of pride and ingratitude that rub like sand in all the wrong places because you know they are unfounded and yet there is no one to set them right because most people assume on some level that I am in the situation I am through some failing of my own and I am only reaping the due consequences of my supposed follies.

Not that I don’t have any of my own, but even though the worst parts are the result of another person over whose choices and actions I have no control, I am still responsible for cleaning up the mess, because they won’t. I am not, however, unaware nor ungrateful for those who have been part of GOD’s delivery system for pieces of His provision, no matter what anyone may say nor think of me.

Nonetheless, it is actually NOT my responsibility to see to my further provision or the ongoing cleanup job – it is GOD’S. I just have to be willing and available to obey whatever He asks of me at a moment’s notice to position myself in close relationship with Him so that I am on hand when His promised provision comes through just like He says it will. I can’t do that if I am more concerned with what others think of me than what He thinks of me.

If I am more focused on the obstacles in my way, the approval of people who think they have a higher “in” with GOD than I do and doubt my ability to hear and obey Him without their direction. There is a distinct difference between accepting Godly counsel and allowing someone who is only interested in their own control to control me with their emotional manipulation tactics and accusations based out of their misplaced low opinion of me and my abilities, my character.

Lately, I’ve had this sense that in spite of the great deliverance GOD has already brought about, He isn’t finished yet. There is more yet to come. GOD is still in the process of bringing about the “life I thought was too good to be true.” It’s not that I am not grateful for what He has done for us thus far, but if I settle in and tell myself I just have to be satisfied with “good enough” and lose sight of the entirety of His promise, I am shortchanging myself and the full measure of His goodness.

Like the Israelites, I think too often, I give up and compromise right before God is ready to bring in the heavy-hitting good stuff. He will still keep His promises but my bumbling interference may make it take the long way around, just like a two-week hike from Egypt turned into a 40-year camping trip in the desert because the Israelites decided their way would be better than GOD’s way in spite of all the miracles and wonders they had seen. I can save myself a lot of unnecessary stress if I just keep my eyes on the surety that GOD will bring about every detail of His promises to me while appreciating the way station where He has placed us for this season.

As much as I am grateful for what He has given us so far, I know that the Creator of the Universe is more concerned with my spiritual health than my material blessings. He is not a magical wish fairy to grant my every temporal desire, no matter the need I face. Nonetheless, I know there is more on the way because we aren’t all the way to what He has promised me and I don’t want to miss out on the best that GOD has to offer. My job of the moment is to practice trust and patience that all I need (not want) will fall into place at just the right time. Please pray that I would pass this test.

Blessings!

Tamara Christine

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous for the LORD your GOD will go with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

I am not ashamed for I know in Whom I have believed and am convinced that He is able to guard that which I have entrusted to Him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12

Leave a Reply

