Not Running After Ai When I Can Have Jericho

So the men of Israel took some of their provisions and did not ask for the counsel of the LORD.

Joshua 9:14

This colossal blunder follows straight on the heels of the Israelites’ great victory at Jericho, the defeat at Ai (because they did not ask God’s guidance FIRST) and the subsequent victory when they did consult GOD and rectified Achan’s sin problem. They made a deal with the Gibeonites without asking God so they didn’t get clued in about their deceit and made unwise promises instead of fully implementing the conquering of the Promised Land as God had instructed them.  They really should have known better at this point — one might reasonably expect that the lesson was clear, but evidently they still didn’t get it.

Things ALWAYS turn out better when you stick with GOD first, even when you think you know what to do and the path seems routine, obvious or inevitable. GOD always has a better plan. If I want to see the greatest benefits and blessings, I need to talk to HIM before enacting any plan or opportunity that seems good to me. Let Him point out and rectify any flaws or point me in a new direction altogether. Even when His plan does not follow human sense or logic, I will always be better off doing things His way regardless of outward appearances and opinions!

Dear LORD,

Thank You for being the Sustainer of my soul and my life through these difficult times. Thank You for granting me the lives and hearts of my children. Please wrap us in Your protection, Your wisdom and grace and lead us to the best solutions this year. Keep us close to You and don’t let us let go of You, no matter what may come. Keep me mindful of letting You lead and asking Your guidance on every decision, especially those with the potential to lead us forward in terms of income, financial freedom and housing. Be my Guide and my Sustainer now as You have always faithfully been. In Jesus’ Name. Amen

Blessings!

Tamara Christine

Be strong and courageous for the LORD your GOD will be with you wherever you go.  Joshua 1:9

I am not ashamed for I know in Whom I have believed and am convinced that He is able to guard that which I have entrusted to Him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12

 

 

Leave a Reply

