Finding God in Lonely Places

…He withdrew from there in a boat, to a lonely place by Himself; and when the multitudes heard of this, they followed Him on foot from the cities.

Matthew 14:13

Regular people, with regular lives, regular illnesses, pains and heartbreaks who knew only that they needed, they wanted to be near Jesus because His answers touched the hurting places and made them whole again, even when they didn’t understand how. These people followed Jesus into the lonely place. A place that appeared to have no resources, nothing going on. Not a place you’d expect anything exciting to happen. but from that place of emptiness, Jesus acted to show Himself enough and more, and to fill the emptiness, to make abundance out of lack. He is the only one who can make something out of nothing.

“Little is much when God is in it.”

Pastor Rich Jones, CCWC

“Bring them to me,” Jesus tell the disciples in verse 17. They did not have enough food for everyone on their own. But Jesus did. Neither do I have nor can I do enough to provide for our needs on my own. The only answer is to take it to Jesus, let Him multiply it in our lonely place as He did the loaves and fishes. The kids and I just need to follow Jesus, fix our hopes only on Him in our very lonely place. For it is in the lonely, unlikely, impossible places of life that the greatest provision takes place. In recognizing my lack and following Him into the lonely place, I open myself to see His greatest work be brought to bear in power for His glory, for He is in the loneliness and darkness and whispers to my heart — “Take courage for I am with you. Do not be afraid.”

Dear LORD,

Thank You for being enough in my lonely place. I need YOU. I need You to show me clearly the way that I cannot see, to bring my family home — to our OWN home and to finish the journey to financial freedom in victory.  The place keeps getting lonelier and bleaker and I need You to show up in power and deliver the kids and I. Please be in my little and make it much that You may receive the glory as our Provider. I hope only in You. I will fear no evil to befall us for the LORD our GOD is with us. Take courage, O my heart. Fear not, O my soul — for He is near and He will deliver us in the space of one breath to the next by His mighty power. 

In Jesus’ Name. Amen

Blessings!

Tamara Christine

Be strong and courageous for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

I am not ashamed for I know in Whom I have believed and am convinced that He is able to guard that which I have entrusted to Him until that day. 2 Timothy 1:12

Kristian Stanfill leading Always (Live) at Passion 2011 Atlanta. Available on the album, Passion: Here For You

(P) (C) 2011 sixstepsrecords/Sparrow Records. All rights reserved. Manufactured by EMI Christian Music Group.

Leave a Reply

