Choosing Gratitude (or I Want Him More Than Self-Pity and Resentment)

In honor of remembering that today is a day to thank GOD for His mercies and blessings:

Proclamation of Thanksgiving (1863)

What Lincoln’s Thanksgiving Proclamation Tells Us About Separation of Church and State

I am most thankful that my children are here with me and safe. Also that we have a roof over our heads and food to eat which we very easily might not, were it not for God’s blessing and provision; and for all the friends that are walking with us through our times of trial. Those of you who know the back story of my life this year, know that this is not just an idle, trite list of easy, obvious thanks but a serious heart felt gratitude stemming from harsh realities. Above all else, I am thankful that I am walking through this WITH God and not without (I seriously don’t know how anyone does this without Him!!) and that He is holding me tighter than ever before in my life and has all the details of my life in His capable hands even when I can’t see where we are going! I choose gratitude over wallowing in resentment and self-pity; and the action of focused obedience to His lead over helpless apathy!

“I am not ashamed for I know in Whom I have believed and am convinced that He is able to guard that which I have entrusted to Him until that day.” 2 Timothy 1:12

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  What are YOU thankful for today?  Leave me a comment to spread the spirit of gratitude.  After all, Bible says – “…in everything give thanks.” So let’s start today if we haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

