He is the First, the Last and the Encore, The Final Word

“Behold, to the Lord my God belong heaven and the highest heavens,the earth and all that is in it…For the Lord my God is the God of gods and the Lord of all lords, the Great, the Mighty, and the Awesome God who does not show partiality nor take a bribe.” Deuteronomy 10:14-17

I say it, I sing it in worship, I mentally assent to the Truth that all things belong to God but do I really believe it with my feet, where the rubber meets the road? Do I really let that Truth sink deep in my heart and actually get a handle on what it truly means in practical terms that God holds Supreme Ownership of anything and everything under the sun, and my resultant condition of being irrevocably and finally under His authority?

If everyone on the planet simultaneously had a great epiphany that He holds the ultimate authority to control all things, there would be a lot less heartache and conflict in the world. We would not have to scrabble about for position, power, wealth, possessions, land, image, etc. We would know that we are all in the same boat spiritually, and turn our focus to God’s concerns instead of competing with each other for fruitless and pointless goals and aims that get us nowhere we really want to be in the end.

It is easy to get distracted and try things my own way when God’s plan doesn’t seem clear to me. However, only by acknowledging the greatness of God can I get beyond human competitiveness and petty squabbles, ego trips and false pride and truly begin to see what it means to live life without prejudice or favoritism based on transitory ideals and deceptive, self-serving manipulation. God loves me but I can’t buy Him off or back Him into a corner. I can’t make Him do things my way. He doesn’t do “scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours” deals. He is so much greater than those petty human games that none of us can truly comprehend it, if at all. God is above all that and it is up to me to reach for His ideal, not for Him to lower His standard to be “politically correct” so everyone can have the “feel goods.” He is the Ultimate Sovereign–He answers to no one and has the LAST WORD about ALL THINGS!

Dear Lord, Abba Father,
Thank you for protecting me from my own foolishness when I get so arrogant as to think I can do things better than You. Please help me to constantly submit myself to Your leadership on a daily basis, moment by moment. Show me how to understand Your way and not futilely attempt to make You conform to my expectations. Grant me a heart of humility in following You so that I never try to box you in and foolishly overlay my own agenda over Your Word and Your leading. Thank You for being above all my petty human failings and weaknesses –and over the selfish human agendas of the world at large to give us all hope, life and salvation from our own short-sightedness. In the High and Mighty and Wonderful, Precious Name of Yeshua Ha Mashiach. Amen.

=========================================

A little bonus for my readers today. I wrote this in 2010 and thought I would share it with you now. Be blessed in your week!

Breathe in Majesty

Breathe in joy
Breathe in blessing
Jehovah Yahweh
Breaks through the boundaries
Settling Truth within the
Veil of my worship
I breathe and His presence
Fills my nostrils with sweetness
And tang
I overflow with His goodness
The river flows
I am satisfied
I want more
Of Him
I breathe again…He is there!

Leave a Reply

